What's On

Artist Rooms Lawrence Weiner

Artist Rooms Lawrence Weiner Image
Influential conceptual artist, Lawrence Weiner uses language as his medium. His text work takes many forms, but the core principle remains the same - his ideas should not be confined to the gallery but taken up by the viewer. Adopting this principle, The McManus has worked with the artist to present his texts in different forms. One cycle of wall texts will be presented in Scots - translated by distinguished author James Robertson. Texts will also be installed within Museum displays around the building - the text resonating alongside Dundee's rich collections of natural history, archaeology, world cultures, industrial machinery and the spectacular architecture of The McManus itself.

The exhibition at The McManus will bring together a cycle of wall texts from Artist Rooms with a later wall piece and a selection of posters, drawings, artist books and ephemera from the Tate and The University of Dundee.

Artist Rooms is a touring collection of over 1,600 works of modern and contemporary art. The collection is displayed in museums and galleries across the UK, and is jointly owned by the National Galleries of Scotland and Tate.

Admission free. Opening Times: Mon to Sat 10am-5pm and Sun 12.30-4.30pm.

Image Credit: Lawrence Weiner, TAKEN TO AS DEEP AS THE SEA CAN BE 2005, Tate, © Lawrence Weiner 2018.

Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.




Free.
Promoted By: Leisure and Culture Dundee
Dates
Monday 19th November 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 20th November 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 21st November 2018 10:00am
Thursday 22nd November 2018 10:00am
Friday 23rd November 2018 10:00am
Saturday 24th November 2018 10:00am
Sunday 25th November 2018 12:30pm
Monday 26th November 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 27th November 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 28th November 2018 10:00am
Thursday 29th November 2018 10:00am
Friday 30th November 2018 10:00am
Saturday 1st December 2018 10:00am
Sunday 2nd December 2018 12:30pm
Monday 3rd December 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 4th December 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 5th December 2018 10:00am
Thursday 6th December 2018 10:00am
Friday 7th December 2018 10:00am
Saturday 8th December 2018 10:00am
Sunday 9th December 2018 12:30pm
Monday 10th December 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 11th December 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 12th December 2018 10:00am
Thursday 13th December 2018 10:00am
Friday 14th December 2018 10:00am
Saturday 15th December 2018 10:00am
Sunday 16th December 2018 12:30pm
Monday 17th December 2018 10:00am
Tuesday 18th December 2018 10:00am
Wednesday 19th December 2018 10:00am
Thursday 20th December 2018 10:00am
Friday 21st December 2018 10:00am
Saturday 22nd December 2018 10:00am
Sunday 23rd December 2018 12:30pm
Friday 28th December 2018 10:00am
Saturday 29th December 2018 10:00am
Sunday 30th December 2018 12:30pm
Thursday 3rd January 2019 10:00am
Friday 4th January 2019 10:00am
Saturday 5th January 2019 10:00am
Sunday 6th January 2019 12:30pm
Monday 7th January 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 8th January 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 9th January 2019 10:00am
Thursday 10th January 2019 10:00am
Friday 11th January 2019 10:00am
Saturday 12th January 2019 10:00am
Sunday 13th January 2019 12:30pm
Monday 14th January 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 15th January 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 16th January 2019 10:00am
Thursday 17th January 2019 10:00am
Friday 18th January 2019 10:00am
Saturday 19th January 2019 10:00am
Sunday 20th January 2019 12:30pm
Monday 21st January 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 22nd January 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 23rd January 2019 10:00am
Thursday 24th January 2019 10:00am
Friday 25th January 2019 10:00am
Saturday 26th January 2019 10:00am
Sunday 27th January 2019 12:30pm
Monday 28th January 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 29th January 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 30th January 2019 10:00am
Thursday 31st January 2019 10:00am
Friday 1st February 2019 10:00am
Saturday 2nd February 2019 10:00am
Sunday 3rd February 2019 12:30pm
Monday 4th February 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 5th February 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 6th February 2019 10:00am
Thursday 7th February 2019 10:00am
Friday 8th February 2019 10:00am
Saturday 9th February 2019 10:00am
Sunday 10th February 2019 12:30pm
Monday 11th February 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 12th February 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 13th February 2019 10:00am
Thursday 14th February 2019 10:00am
Friday 15th February 2019 10:00am
Saturday 16th February 2019 10:00am
Sunday 17th February 2019 12:30pm
Contact
The McManus: Dundee's Art Gallery & Museum
01382 307200
navigationNorthWestsoutheastzoominzoom out
Loading