XXIII TIMES OF MEETINGS, ADJOURNMENT OF MEETINGS AND CYCLE OF MEETINGS

There was submitted Agenda Note AN52-2020 advising that, in terms of Standing Orders, meetings of Dundee City Council and its Committees generally took place at 6.00pm on a Monday and must end no later than 9.30pm, at which time all business which had not yet been dealt with stood adjourned.

In addition, the Policy and Resources Committee, unless in special circumstances, met once per Committee cycle.

The Committee's instructions were sought as to whether the time of meetings, the time for adjournment of meetings and the frequency of meetings of the Policy and Resources Committee should be altered.

In the event of alterations being agreed to, the Head of Democratic and Legal Service would make any necessary amendments to Standing Orders.

The Convener, seconded by Bailie Sawers, moved:

- (i) Policy & Resources Committee will henceforth be held on every cycle of service Committee meetings;
- (ii) Service Committees shall begin at 5pm;
- (iii) Adjournment of meetings, for the purposes of standing orders, shall be set at 8.30pm; and
- (iv) that (ii) and (iii) be considered a temporary change and should be reviewed in the Summer of 2021.

As an amendment Bailie Macpherson, seconded by Councillor Duncan, moved that Service Committees shall begin at 5.30pm.

On a division there voted for the motion – the Convener, Depute Lord Provost Campbell, Bailies Roberts and Sawers and Councillors Cordell, Dawson, Flynn, Hunter, Lynn, Rendall, Rome, Ross, Short and Smith (14); and for the amendment – Bailies Keenan, Wright, Scott and Macpherson and Councillors Cruickshank, McCready, McIrvine, Malone, Marra, Richardson, Hay, Scott and Duncan (13) – the Lord Provost being absent when the vote was taken – whereupon the motion was declared carried.

As a further amendment Bailie Scott, seconded by Councillor Hay, moved that the start time for the Service Committees should remain as 6 pm.

On a division there voted for the motion – the Convener, Depute Lord Provost Campbell, Bailies Roberts and Sawers and Councillors Cordell, Dawson, Flynn, Hunter, Lynn, Rendall, Rome, Ross, Short and Smith (14); and for the amendment – Bailies Keenan, Wright, Scott and Macpherson and Councillors Cruickshank, McCready, McIrvine, Malone, Marra, Richardson, Hay, Scott and Duncan (13) – the Lord Provost being absent when the vote was taken – whereupon the motion was declared carried and became the finding of the meeting.