## 1 SCOTTISH YOUTH PARLIAMENT (AN75-2011)

Committee is asked to note two recent events in the development of opportunities for young people in Dundee to have their views heard and to participate in decision making.

During the two weeks commencing 14th March 2011 the elections for Dundee's representatives to the Scottish Youth Parliament took place. The results of the elections were announced on 1st April 2011 in The Shore by Councillor Bob Duncan.

Four members of the Scottish Youth Parliament for Dundee have been elected. They are:

- Hannah Wilson
- Jamie McGilchrist
- Josh NG
- Daniel Coleman

In total 5,097 young people voted. There were 11 candidates. This represents an 83% increase in the number of young people who participated in the 2009 SYP elections, when 2,791 young people voted and there were 9 candidates.

The elections were coordinated by Community Learning and Development Service Youth Work staff from the Leisure and Communities Department, with support from colleagues in Schools and young people in the Schools Pupil Councils.

Also, the new Dundee Youth Council was launched in the City Chambers on 30th March 2011. Nineteen young people from across Dundee attended the launch. The first meeting saw the elections of office - bearers as follows:

- Matthew Landsburgh, Chair
- Jamie McGilchrist, Vice Chair

The newly elected MSYPs and the Chair and Vice Chair of the Youth Council are present in Chambers tonight.