Grove Conservation Area
Barnhill Conservation Area, designated in 1991 was subdivided into three separately designated conservation areas in 1997: Grove Reres Hill and Forthill. Grove is the smallest of the three and, besides its small size, stands out as different from the other Conservation Areas in that it was feud to a grid plan, continuing that in the older part of Broughty Ferry.
Grove Conservation Area straddles West Queen Street and Queen Street, the main traffic route through Broughty Ferry which runs parallel with the railway line. Queen Street is the focus of the Bull Ring, a small 1930's local authority housing scheme, now itself listed, beside which a theatre and later a cinema is now in use as a car showroom. There are two outstanding churches – St Luke's and St Mary's.
The Southern boundary is the railway line that prompted the expansion of Broughty Ferry from 'fisher town' to elite suburb, and the northern boundary includes the old, but not the newer part of the Grove Academy site.
The crossroads at Fort Street is dignified by the Edwardian post office (now a public house), and the modern, functional telephone exchange. The remainder of the Conservation Area is predominantly residential. Picturesque planning and common sense was soon to bring in the sinuous Camphill Road on which the greatest of the jute baron mansions were to be perched in leafy grounds, that have for the most part, since been built upon.
Other nearby Conservation areas:
- Broughty Ferry Conservation Area
- West Ferry Conservation Area
- Forthill Conservation Area
- Reres Hill Conservation Area