Citizenship of Young People Celebrated

Citizenship of Young People Celebrated Image


Dundee S6 pupils who have proved to be truly community-spirited through their efforts at home and school have been recognised at a special ceremony (Tuesday June 12).

The annual presentation of the Lord Provost McManus Citizenship Award was made at the City Chambers.

The scheme is designed to encourage and recognise young people's hard work and application in their school and the wider community. It is named after Maurice McManus who served as Lord Provost of Dundee between 1960 and 1968.

Current Lord Provost Ian Borthwick hosted the award ceremony attended by pupils who have been nominated, along with their families and school staff.

The winner of the Lord Provost McManus Citizenship Award for 2017 (

1st - Caitlin Burns - Harris Academy

2nd - Amy McKay - Craigie High School

3rd - Abby Lang - Harris Academy

Other nominees:

Mitchell Ramsay -  Braeview Academy

Matthew Ahrens โ€“ Grove Academy

Orthi Gomes โ€“ Morgan Academy

Jamie Simpson โ€“ Morgan Academy

Beth McHugh โ€“ St Johnโ€™s High

Katy Hutton โ€“ St Paulโ€™s Academy 

Lord Provost Ian Borthwick said: โ€œThis occasion shines the spotlight on the hard work of our young people and their determination to help others around them.

โ€œThey are a credit to themselves, their schools and Dundee."

Dundee City Council children and families service convener Councillor Gregor Murray added: "These senior pupils all deserve to be congratulated for their efforts in their secondary and the wider community.

"They are tremendous ambassadors for Dundee and our schools.

โ€œTheir stories are an inspiration and I wish them all the best as they leave school.โ€

Living Wage Employers welcome Scottish Government Minister

Dundee?s most recently accredited Living Wage employers gathered at Social Enterprise ?The Circle...


ยฃ187million tourism boost for Dundee

Dundee?s economy received a record-breaking 187million tourism boost last year, new figures have...