What's On

Ice Bound - Art Exhibition By Darren Rees

Ice Bound - Art Exhibition By Darren Rees Image
Award-winning artist Darren Rees received the coveted Artist in Residency honour from the Friends of The Scott Polar Research Institute in 2015. From February 26th to March 30th he travelled with the Royal Navy on the ice-breaker HMS Protector from the Falkland Islands to the Antarctic Peninsula. His Ice Bound exhibition (and book with Mascot Media) documents his journey in the far south with works depicting the busy penguin colonies on the Falklands at Volunteer Point, Gypsy and Telephone Coves; albatross, petrel and shearwater encounters during the crossing of the rich waters of the Drake Passage; elephant seal, blue-eyed shags and Adelie penguin residents of Rothera British Antarctic Survey base; and the unforgettable sight of whale-filled seas of Antarctica.

Most of the collection of sketches, watercolour and acrylic paintings were executed in situ in Antarctica, but also included in the show are some larger canvasses that Darren painted in the studio on his return, including pieces that are being exhibited for the first time.

Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.

Promoted By: Dundee Heritage Trust
Dates
Saturday 23rd February 2019 10:00am
Sunday 24th February 2019 11:00am
Monday 25th February 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 26th February 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 27th February 2019 10:00am
Thursday 28th February 2019 10:00am
Friday 1st March 2019 10:00am
Saturday 2nd March 2019 10:00am
Sunday 3rd March 2019 11:00am
Monday 4th March 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 5th March 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 6th March 2019 10:00am
Thursday 7th March 2019 10:00am
Friday 8th March 2019 10:00am
Saturday 9th March 2019 10:00am
Sunday 10th March 2019 11:00am
Monday 11th March 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 12th March 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 13th March 2019 10:00am
Thursday 14th March 2019 10:00am
Friday 15th March 2019 10:00am
Saturday 16th March 2019 10:00am
Sunday 17th March 2019 11:00am
Monday 18th March 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 19th March 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 20th March 2019 10:00am
Thursday 21st March 2019 10:00am
Friday 22nd March 2019 10:00am
Saturday 23rd March 2019 10:00am
Sunday 24th March 2019 11:00am
Monday 25th March 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 26th March 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 27th March 2019 10:00am
Thursday 28th March 2019 10:00am
Friday 29th March 2019 10:00am
Saturday 30th March 2019 10:00am
Sunday 31st March 2019 11:00am
Monday 1st April 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 2nd April 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 3rd April 2019 10:00am
Thursday 4th April 2019 10:00am
Friday 5th April 2019 10:00am
Saturday 6th April 2019 10:00am
Sunday 7th April 2019 11:00am
Monday 8th April 2019 10:00am
Tuesday 9th April 2019 10:00am
Wednesday 10th April 2019 10:00am
Thursday 11th April 2019 10:00am
Contact
Discovery Point
01382 309060
Venue
navigationNorthWestsoutheastzoominzoom out
Loading