What's On

Seized by the Left Hand

Seized by the Left Hand  Image
This international group exhibition takes as its starting point some of the ideas contained within American writer Ursula K. Le Guin's 1969 novel The Left Hand of Darkness.

Written 50 years ago, this masterpiece of feminist science fiction is set on an icy planet called 'Gethen' (which translates to 'Winter') whose inhabitants shift and change gender continuously throughout their lives. We as readers are told the story of Gethen from a human perspective through the eyes of protagonist Genly Ai, an envoy sent to the planet to attempt to convince Gethenian governments to join an interplanetary trade coalition.

The book had a profound impact on the sci-fi genre at the time of its publication and remains hugely relevant to the world around us today, posing serious and challenging questions about gender, sexuality, the environment, language, communication, power and empire.

Using The Left Hand of Darkness as a lodestar of sorts, and invoking Le Guin's generous spirit in thinking through the possibility of an exhibition inspired by her writing, we are drawing together a community of different artistic voices from all over the world to fill our galleries across the winter. Presenting work by Sophia Al-Maria, Andrew Black, CAConrad, Harry Josephine Giles, Emma Wolf-Haugh, Isaac Julien, Huw Lemmey, Flora Moscovici, Quinie, Abel Rodríguez, Tuesday Smillie, Manuel Solano, Emma Wolukau-Wanambwa and Ming Wong, the exhibition aims to explore some of the questions and ideas thrown up by Le Guin half a century ago that are still urgently being debated in contemporary society.

This multifaceted project, curated by Eoin Dara and Kim McAleese (Programme Director of Grand Union, Birmingham), will combine artforms such as painting, drawing, sculpture, installation and film, with performance, poetry and writing. The exhibition at DCA will also include a curated display of artefacts from the D'Arcy Thompson Zoology Museum housed within the University of Dundee, highlighting specimens from the animal kingdom that beautifully resist normative categorisation when it comes to gender, sexuality, bonding and kinship.

Seized by the Left Hand seeks to champion artists, performers and writers who, much like Le Guin was, are engaged in the vital act of radical imagining: crafting alternative spaces and worlds that hint at ways in which we all might better live, love and care for one another.

Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.
Free.
Dates
Sunday 1st March 2020 10:00am
Monday 2nd March 2020 10:00am
Tuesday 3rd March 2020 10:00am
Wednesday 4th March 2020 10:00am
Thursday 5th March 2020 10:00am
Friday 6th March 2020 10:00am
Saturday 7th March 2020 10:00am
Sunday 8th March 2020 10:00am
Monday 9th March 2020 10:00am
Tuesday 10th March 2020 10:00am
Wednesday 11th March 2020 10:00am
Thursday 12th March 2020 10:00am
Friday 13th March 2020 10:00am
Saturday 14th March 2020 10:00am
Sunday 15th March 2020 10:00am
Monday 16th March 2020 10:00am
Tuesday 17th March 2020 10:00am
Wednesday 18th March 2020 10:00am
Thursday 19th March 2020 10:00am
Friday 20th March 2020 10:00am
Saturday 21st March 2020 10:00am
Sunday 22nd March 2020 10:00am
Venue
152 Nethergate
Dundee
DD1 4DY
01382 909 900
Map
Disabled AccessAccessible LiftsAccess RampsAssistance DogsBaby ChangeDisabled ParkingLow CountersWC Disabled
navigationNorthWestsoutheastzoominzoom out
Loading