What's On

Scotland, Global Solidarity and Mandela

Scotland, Global Solidarity and Mandela Image
This exhibition tells the story of Nelson Mandela's relationship to Scotland and the role played by the Scottish people in the global struggle to end apartheid. The exhibition also documents Dundee's contribution to the anti-apartheid struggle and the campaign to secure Mandela's release from prison.

In Britain, opposition to the apartheid system in South Africa was led by the AAM. The Scottish Committee of the AAM was formed at a meeting held at the University of Dundee in 1976, and across the city there were regular rallies, pickets and boycotts opposing the apartheid state and its links to Britain. In 1985, Nelson Mandela was awarded the Freedom of the City of Dundee, a powerful demonstration of Dundonians' solidarity with Mandela and the people of South Africa.

The exhibition is in the Tower Foyer Gallery and is open Mon-Fri 09.30am-7pm, Sat 11am-4pm. There is no need to bring your Eventbrite ticket with you when you visit. If you also wish to see the exhibition in the Lamb Gallery during your visit, there is no need to book separately for that.

Booking via eventbrite.

Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.
Free.
Promoted By: University of Dundee
Dates
Monday 28th November 2022 9:30am
Tuesday 29th November 2022 9:30am
Wednesday 30th November 2022 9:30am
Thursday 1st December 2022 9:30am
Friday 2nd December 2022 9:30am
Saturday 3rd December 2022 11:00am
Monday 5th December 2022 9:30am
Tuesday 6th December 2022 9:30am
Wednesday 7th December 2022 9:30am
Thursday 8th December 2022 9:30am
Friday 9th December 2022 9:30am
Saturday 10th December 2022 11:00am
Monday 12th December 2022 9:30am
Tuesday 13th December 2022 9:30am
Wednesday 14th December 2022 9:30am
Thursday 15th December 2022 9:30am
Friday 16th December 2022 9:30am
Contact
Tower Foyer Gallery Tower Building University of Dundee
01382 384310
navigationNorthWestsoutheastzoominzoom out
Loading