What's On

Cooper Summer Residency 2018 - Lorens Holm and Paul Noble

Cooper Summer Residency 2018 - Lorens Holm and Paul Noble  Image
Cooper Summer Residency is an annual programme for artists, writers and thinkers to reflect upon and experiment with ideas and strategies that will extend their practice. It is a social and discursive situation for dialogues and debates to take place between residency artists, writers, thinkers and publics, providing an alternative way to encounter, reflect and critique the plurality of contemporary culture.

The 2018 edition of Cooper Summer Residency is an online residency and unique platform for critical and cross-disciplinary conversations. With Dundee fast becoming a destination on the global cultural map, Cooper Gallery subversively invites a counter dialogue to explicate the relationships between architecture, urban planning, sustainability, collective consciousness and contemporary art. Lorens Holm, Director of Geddes Institute for Urban Research at the University of Dundee, will engage in a four-week correspondence with preeminent contemporary artist Paul Noble preceding Noble's upcoming exhibition Politics of Small Places alongside works from the Geddes Archive Collections at the University of Strathclyde, which will be exhibited at Cooper Gallery in September.

The Residency will culminate in an in-conversation event between Holm and Noble at the preview of the exhibition Politics of Small Spaces on Thursday 13 September at Cooper Gallery.

The correspondence between Holm and Noble and Holm's reflection on the pioneering Scottish urban planner Patrick Geddes' thinking will be presented across Cooper Gallery's website, social media channels and Group Critical Writing site.

Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.

Free.
Promoted By: University of Dundee Cooper Gallery
Dates
Wednesday 15th August 2018 9:00am
Thursday 16th August 2018 9:00am
Friday 17th August 2018 9:00am
Saturday 18th August 2018 9:00am
Sunday 19th August 2018 9:00am
Monday 20th August 2018 9:00am
Tuesday 21st August 2018 9:00am
Wednesday 22nd August 2018 9:00am
Thursday 23rd August 2018 9:00am
Friday 24th August 2018 9:00am
Saturday 25th August 2018 9:00am
Sunday 26th August 2018 9:00am
Monday 27th August 2018 9:00am
Tuesday 28th August 2018 9:00am
Wednesday 29th August 2018 9:00am
Thursday 30th August 2018 9:00am
Friday 31st August 2018 9:00am
Saturday 1st September 2018 9:00am
Sunday 2nd September 2018 9:00am
Monday 3rd September 2018 9:00am
Tuesday 4th September 2018 9:00am
Wednesday 5th September 2018 9:00am
Thursday 6th September 2018 9:00am
Friday 7th September 2018 9:00am
Saturday 8th September 2018 9:00am
Sunday 9th September 2018 9:00am
Monday 10th September 2018 9:00am
Tuesday 11th September 2018 9:00am
Wednesday 12th September 2018 9:00am
Thursday 13th September 2018 9:00am
Venue
Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art
13 Perth Road
Dundee
DD1 4HT
01382 385330
Map
Assistance DogsDisabled Parking
navigationNorthWestsoutheastzoominzoom out
Loading