Making Room

Making Room Image
A new interior space for Dundee

Assemble's residency project will reproduce fragments of historic buildings in Dundee.

Working with a group of local young people and alongside Dundee Central Library, cast panels will be assembled from a range of digital scans. These will form a new interior room, created by combining digital and traditional techniques.

The tools available to make buildings and objects are more sophisticated and wide-ranging than ever. But the increasing use of digital tools tends to produce an urban environment where buildings look and feel increasingly similar. 'Making Room' explores the relationship between contemporary production techniques and traditional building crafts. A range of examples found throughout Dundee will act as inspiration for the project.

Transformed into a site of production, you are invited to explore 'Making Room' as it progresses. During the next few months, prototypes, material tests, sketches and failed experiments will fill the gallery and reveal the process of making. A dynamic public programme of talks, events and workshops will run throughout the project.

The finished structure will be transferred to Central Library as an area for learning made by, and for, the people of Dundee.

Museum opening hours: 10am to 5pm Thursday to Monday.
Booking Required.

Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.
Free.
Booking Required
Promoted By: V&A Dundee
Dates
Thursday 21st January 2021 10:00am
Friday 22nd January 2021 10:00am
Saturday 23rd January 2021 10:00am
Sunday 24th January 2021 10:00am
Monday 25th January 2021 10:00am
Thursday 28th January 2021 10:00am
Friday 29th January 2021 10:00am
Saturday 30th January 2021 10:00am
Sunday 31st January 2021 10:00am
Monday 1st February 2021 10:00am
Thursday 4th February 2021 10:00am
Friday 5th February 2021 10:00am
Saturday 6th February 2021 10:00am
Sunday 7th February 2021 10:00am
Monday 8th February 2021 10:00am
Thursday 11th February 2021 10:00am
Friday 12th February 2021 10:00am
Saturday 13th February 2021 10:00am
Sunday 14th February 2021 10:00am
Venue
1 Riverside Esplanade
Dundee
DD1 4EZ
Map
Disabled AccessAccessible LiftsAssistance DogsDisabled ParkingHard of HearingWC Disabled
navigationNorthWestsoutheastzoominzoom out
Loading