What's On

Matthew Arthur Williams

Matthew Arthur Williams Image
This exhibition debuts a new body of work by Glasgow-based artist Matthew Arthur Williams, marking his first major solo exhibition in a UK institution.

Throughout his career Williams' work has developed through close collaboration with others, creating projects that explore visibility, care, love, family, memory, representation and resistance. His work expands on traditional understandings of portraiture by concentrating on defying erasure, building an archive of subjects and shifting narratives considering what it means to be Black, to be queer, and to inhabit rural environments.

This exhibition spanning both galleries at DCA will centre around a newly commissioned film and sound installation alongside photographic work, developed using conversations, interviews and materials from both public and private histories, records and archives. In this work, Williams draws together a number of disparate places - particularly Stoke-on-Trent in England and Clarendon in Jamaica - which intimately connect to a far-reaching and complex conception of home for the artist.

Many of the production techniques used within this project are deliberately analogue in nature, including black and white photography and 16mm film. These delicate processes bear the marks of the artist's hand and body more readily than their digital counterparts, which we are all used to consuming at an accelerated rate through screens and monitors in our daily lives. In his work Williams refuses modes of rapid consumption in favour of slow and careful approaches to considered and responsible image making.

The title Soon Come is also a gentle invitation to slow down our thinking in fast-paced environments. In the West Indies, particularly in Jamaica, 'soon come' is an elusive sentiment that bypasses a specific idea of time or progress and instead embraces the unknown and ungraspable. For Williams, the meaning behind this phrase hints at both the immediate and the eternal: "It's multiplicitous. It's between now and never."

Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.
Free.
Dates
Tuesday 7th February 2023 11:00am
Wednesday 8th February 2023 11:00am
Thursday 9th February 2023 11:00am
Friday 10th February 2023 11:00am
Saturday 11th February 2023 11:00am
Tuesday 14th February 2023 11:00am
Wednesday 15th February 2023 11:00am
Thursday 16th February 2023 11:00am
Friday 17th February 2023 11:00am
Saturday 18th February 2023 11:00am
Sunday 19th February 2023 11:00am
Tuesday 21st February 2023 11:00am
Wednesday 22nd February 2023 11:00am
Thursday 23rd February 2023 11:00am
Friday 24th February 2023 11:00am
Saturday 25th February 2023 11:00am
Sunday 26th February 2023 11:00am
Tuesday 28th February 2023 11:00am
Wednesday 1st March 2023 11:00am
Thursday 2nd March 2023 11:00am
Friday 3rd March 2023 11:00am
Saturday 4th March 2023 11:00am
Sunday 5th March 2023 11:00am
Tuesday 7th March 2023 11:00am
Wednesday 8th March 2023 11:00am
Thursday 9th March 2023 11:00am
Friday 10th March 2023 11:00am
Saturday 11th March 2023 11:00am
Sunday 12th March 2023 11:00am
Tuesday 14th March 2023 11:00am
Wednesday 15th March 2023 11:00am
Thursday 16th March 2023 11:00am
Friday 17th March 2023 11:00am
Saturday 18th March 2023 11:00am
Sunday 19th March 2023 11:00am
Tuesday 21st March 2023 11:00am
Wednesday 22nd March 2023 11:00am
Thursday 23rd March 2023 11:00am
Friday 24th March 2023 11:00am
Saturday 25th March 2023 11:00am
Sunday 26th March 2023 11:00am
Venue
152 Nethergate
Dundee
DD1 4DY
01382 909 900
Map
Disabled AccessAccessible LiftsAccess RampsAssistance DogsBaby ChangeDisabled ParkingLow CountersWC Disabled
navigationNorthWestsoutheastzoominzoom out
Loading