What's On

Subjectified: Women, Science and Art

Subjectified: Women, Science and Art Image
Advocating for diversity in the scientific industry in new McManus display.

A new exhibit, Subjectified: Women, Science and Art has gone on show at The McManus: Dundee's Art Gallery & Museum, and shares the stories of three scientists working at the University of Dundee.

The art-science collaboration explores women in physics as researchers, educators and as people in the Making of Modern Dundee Gallery at The McManus. Women and other gender minorities are increasingly present and accepted in today's sciences: both in industry and academia. But who are these women scientists as people? Silversmith Karen Westland set out to explore these ideas through their art practice and in the public exhibit which features modern 'Cabinets of Curiosities' and jewellery.

This exciting display offers insight into The University of Dundee's astrophysicist Dr Aurora Sicilia Aguilar, material scientist Dr Charlotte Cochard and theoretical astrophysicist Dr Soko Matsumura's connections with science. Included are scientific artefacts and personal effects from each and a bespoke item of jewellery made in response to what Karen learnt about each researcher during the collaboration. This display is an opportunity to see items connected to women in physics at the University of Dundee: their research, enthusiasms, and who they are.

Men currently hold a considerable majority in the physics sector in the UK, where there are typically less than a quarter of female students in physics departments. On the display: Karen said- 'I hope people see that anyone can engage with subjects they find interesting, regardless of personal characteristics outside our control. Recognising the value a diverse range of people thinking and working in any industry can offer is key: and was important for us to ally with the Institute of Physics' (IOP) for Subjectified, to support their industry-wide diversity and inclusion agenda."

Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.
Free.
Promoted By: Leisure and Culture Dundee.
Dates
Tuesday 7th February 2023 10:00am
Wednesday 8th February 2023 10:00am
Thursday 9th February 2023 10:00am
Friday 10th February 2023 10:00am
Saturday 11th February 2023 10:00am
Monday 13th February 2023 10:00am
Tuesday 14th February 2023 10:00am
Wednesday 15th February 2023 10:00am
Thursday 16th February 2023 10:00am
Friday 17th February 2023 10:00am
Saturday 18th February 2023 10:00am
Monday 20th February 2023 10:00am
Tuesday 21st February 2023 10:00am
Wednesday 22nd February 2023 10:00am
Thursday 23rd February 2023 10:00am
Friday 24th February 2023 10:00am
Saturday 25th February 2023 10:00am
Monday 27th February 2023 10:00am
Tuesday 28th February 2023 10:00am
Wednesday 1st March 2023 10:00am
Thursday 2nd March 2023 10:00am
Friday 3rd March 2023 10:00am
Saturday 4th March 2023 10:00am
Sunday 5th March 2023 12:30pm
Monday 6th March 2023 10:00am
Tuesday 7th March 2023 10:00am
Wednesday 8th March 2023 10:00am
Thursday 9th March 2023 10:00am
Friday 10th March 2023 10:00am
Saturday 11th March 2023 10:00am
Sunday 12th March 2023 12:30pm
Monday 13th March 2023 10:00am
Tuesday 14th March 2023 10:00am
Wednesday 15th March 2023 10:00am
Thursday 16th March 2023 10:00am
Saturday 18th March 2023 10:00am
Sunday 19th March 2023 12:30pm
navigationNorthWestsoutheastzoominzoom out
Loading